Happy 714 Day, a Personal Story

Nancy Levine Stearns
2 min readJul 14, 2021

I just found out today is known in some circles as “714 Day,” referring to the imprint on pharmaceutical Quaaludes (methaqualone) manufactured in the 1970s and early 80s by Lemmon and Rorer drug companies.

When I was a senior in college, Federal drug enforcement agents came to my flat in Albany, New York, where I was living off-campus with roommates.

They told me I was atop the list in New York state for for filling prescriptions for Quaaludes, a controlled class of drug. I was visiting bogus doctors in New York City who would write me prescriptions for Quaaludes in exchange for cash. I was a drug addict, so I’d swallow some ‘ludes and sell some to fund my habit.

The Feds weren’t after me, they were after the doctors. They asked if I’d wear a wire the next time I visited a doctor in NYC. I respectfully declined, too dangerous. They asked if I’d testify before a House Subcommittee. I respectfully declined again, also too dangerous.

They asked if I’d give up the doctors. I did. Told them everything, where to go, what to say, where to wear a wire. Manufacture and sale of Quaaludes were banned soon thereafter.

I kept filling prescriptions even after the Feds visited, and until the trade was shut down.

I got into therapy when I was 23, dealt with the drivers that made me a drug addict. Happy 714 Day, be safe, do healing work.

--

--

Nancy Levine Stearns

Journalist, former executive recruiter, author, The Tao of Pug book series (Penguin/Skyhorse). Freelance writer, Sports Illustrated, Salon, AlterNet, etc.